Using Up Fabric Scraps

Standard
We've moved!

We’ve moved!

So this past weekend I was determined to craft. I had been pretty neglectful to the “Crafty” portion of this website. So I went on a mission to find something to do and I came across a plain, white picture frame that I bought in college…and never even put a picture in it. Now the curious part of this is WHY have I held on to this picture frame for approximately 10 years (and no less than 5 moves)?!

My Set Up

So I grabbed my ModgePodge, a paint brush, some scraps of fabric, and glitter…because you never know when you will need glitter…and then I stared. And I put on Big Love on my iPad. And then I started chopping up the fabric and covering the frame with ModgePodge.

Now I had no science or plan with this. I just knew that I wanted to use all of this stuff on something!

Step 1 – ModgePodge the frame…well at least one side of the frame since the MP dries so quick.

My ModgePodge loaded brush

My ModgePodge loaded brush

Step 2 – Chop up my fabric scraps and start placing them around the frame. I did my best to shop the pieces into different shapes and sizes so that there would be some variety.

Like pen to paper...or fabric to frame

Like pen to paper…or fabric to frame

Step 3 – Then I ModgePodge’d the fabric down on the sides, adding more where needed to cover the frame.

This whole Modge Podge process reminded me of elementary school where you put glue/paste all over your hands and then peel it off.

Step 4 – Attach the ends of the fabric to the back so that it looks “finished”

Step 5 – Cover the whole darn thing in ModgePodge!! This will seal in all of the little threads from the fabric scraps and give the entire thing a nice shine.

At this point I *could* have been done…but that wouldn’t really be like me. And I did have some ribbon and glitter out, but where would I be crossing the over crafting line? I decided that glitter was the line. So I added a strip of ribbon down the right side and a bow.

Step 6 – ModgePodge on some ribbon for an accent. And then whip up a simple bow.

Now of course I couldn’t rely on the MP to keep my simple bow together so I busted out my trusty needle and thread for a quick couple of stitches. Just enough to hold it in place. I left the thread exposed, but purely because I didn’t have anything to put over it. Project for another day?

Step 7 – Bust out the hot glue gun!! Again I needed something a little stronger than MP to attach the satiny ribbon to my frame so I brought in the heavy duty reinforcements.

Step 8 – Have a cute little girl make a picture to put inside 🙂

My daughter claimed this frame from the second I started working on it. It now lives up on the shelf in her room where she can see it every day…with her Disney memorabilia.

This whole project took me under an hour, even with multiple stops to tend to my midgets and having to shoo them away from the hot glue.

I can’t wait to grab some super cheap frames from Goodwill and use up more of my scraps of fabric and ribbon! What do you do with your scraps?
bloglovintwitterpinterestfacebook

15 thoughts on “Using Up Fabric Scraps

  1. I don’t usually have fabric scraps, but I keep them and any other usable crafting scraps in a tote for use in art projects with the kids

Leave a Reply

