Coconut Oil Chocolates

Standard

So when I decided to switch to a Paleo lifestyle one of my saddest moments was realizing that I couldn’t just grab a candy bar for a chocolate fix. I am a complete chocolate addict! So I took to Pintrest in order to find something to satisfy the cravings…low and behold I found coconut oil chocolates πŸ™‚ These are AMAZING and EASY!

The original recipe I found was at Beyond the Peel, but I have made some adjustments and I hope you enjoy them!

Ingredients for my version:

1/2 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1ish TBSP honey
1ish TBSP almond butter or other various nut butter
pinch of salt
handful of almonds or some other mix in

Please pardon the dark picture...for some reason I could not get a good picture!

Please pardon the dark picture…for some reason I could not get a good picture!

Step 1: Add 1/2 cup coconut oil to a microwave safe bowl

Step 1:  Coconut oil into microwaveable bowl

Step 1: Coconut oil into microwaveable bowl

Step 2: Add 1 TBSP (or a drizzle) of honey on top.

Step 2: Give your honey bear a squeeze!

Step 2: Give your honey bear a squeeze!

Step 3: Microwave the ooey gooey mess for 30 sec – 1 minute then mix the 2 together to combine. This will help keep the honey from separating later.

Step 3: Stirring the melted oil and honey.

Step 3: Stirring the melted oil and honey.

Step 4: Add the 1 TBSP or so of almond butter. This is where I strongly move away from the original post. I miss Reeses’ Cups so much I decided that mixing in almond butter would rock…it does. I have also used sunbutter (sunflower seed butter) and have had very positive results.

Step 4: Add some sort of nut butter...I prefer almond butter.

Step 4: Add some sort of nut butter…I prefer almond butter.

Step 5: Add 1/4 cup cocoa powder. The higher quality cocoa you use the higher quality chocolate you will have. I, personally, just use whatever is on sale when I am shopping. πŸ™‚

Step 5: Mix in the yummy cocoa powder.

Step 5: Mix in the yummy cocoa powder.

Step 6: Pour that awesometastic mixture into your pan. Beyond the Peel suggests using silicon trays, but I don’t have any so I use my smallest glass baking dish πŸ™‚

Step 6: Pour into the dish...

Step 6: Pour into the dish…

Step 6.1: Keep pouring...it just looks like the Willy Wonka chocolate river, right?!

Step 6.1: Keep pouring…it just looks like the Willy Wonka chocolate river, right?!

Step 7: Add the almonds…or coconut…or whatever mix-ins you want!

Step 7: Add the mix-ins!

Step 7: Add the mix-ins!

Step 8: Put the dish in the fridge…or if you are really having a chocolate craving the freezer! It depends on how hot you made your coconut oil for how long it will take the chocolates to set. I have found that around a 30 minutes is a general good time. FLASH FORWARD….remove pan from fridge.

Step 7: put in and then remove pan...just like on a cooking show!

Step 8 put in and then remove pan…just like on a cooking show!

Step 9: Serve!! I attempted to slice this nicely into normal human pieces…

Step 9: Slice into normal human pieces...

Step 9: Slice into normal human pieces…

BUT that didn’t work! It began to chip and break. I was pissed…but not too pissed. This always seems to happen when I try to present something! I promise my food is tasty even if it is not tasty looking…

Chocolate crumbled on a plate...I am so not Martha

Chocolate crumbled on a plate…I am so not Martha

So this concludes my first recipe in The Crunchy Part of my site. Please let me know how this has worked out for you! And let me know your favorite mix in…I love trying new things πŸ™‚

One thought on “Coconut Oil Chocolates

Leave a Reply

